Questions From A Normie #3


By Chris Alvarez

                        Can you still go out to clubs and bars?

Going out to clubs and bars was something I really enjoyed.  It was a time when I could let loose, act crazy and hit on girls.  99.9% of the time I had to be drunk to do it.  However, now I can act crazy without being drunk, can have fun while being sober, and can have enough self-confidence to approach women and accept being shot down. 

That’s how I operate now.  Nevertheless the ability to go out to bars and clubs can differ from person to person.  Some people can go out, while others can’t.  It all depends on what triggers you have and how well you deal with them.  I would never say to someone that has one week sober that they are ok to go to a bar, I wasn’t ok to go out to clubs and bars at one week sober either.  For many of us though, time has a way of helping you cope.

No matter how much sober time you accumulate, some people will never feel 100% comfortable with going to these places. Those people come to accept that fact and live perfectly happy lives.

So to answer the question; I can go to clubs and bars as long as I stay focused and know that I can’t drink and don’t need a drink either.

If you are a “normie” and would like to know more leave a comment and I will answer any questions you have.

4 Comments

Filed under 12-Steps, addiction, Alcoholics Anonymous, Dating, Sobriety, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Questions From A Normie #3

  1. ron goldberg

    Good solid stuff… Keep up the good work…

  2. lexy

    Good work chrissy!! I never really went to bars and clubs considering I got sober before I turned 21, but being at bars or events with alcohol don’t really bother me anymore either… but it did. For AWHILE. Honestly, I was just jealous that I couldn’t get all drunk and annoying “like everyone else.” Now I could care less…but you won’t find me at a club any time soon😛

  3. Pingback: Questions From a Normie #4 | Beit T'Shuvah

Leave a Reply

