In Memoriam: Elaine Breslow


By M. Alexander

Today, the mood at Beit T’Shuvah is somber, but in times of sorrow we band together.  Yesterday, we lost one of our great matriarchs, Elaine Breslow. Those who knew her describe her as a mother, a friend, and a savior. Those who did not know her personally are aware of the work she has done to help better their lives.  In Elaine, our community has lost a luminous spirit and an eminent figure—a person who not only worked tirelessly and contributed greatly, but one who exemplified Beit T’Shuvah’s mission.  Every person that she encountered left her presence feeling that they were counted, that they mattered, that they too could make a difference.

Though the Beit T’Shuvah community is saddened by this loss, we still stand strong in support of her mission and her life. Today at Beit T’Shuvah, we are all present, honoring Elaine’s memory, seeking comfort in the company of one another.  Rabbi sends his condolences to “Warren, Jamie, Julia and Elaine’s sister Barbara.”  He describes Elaine as a “life saver,” and he prays that “God [will] send comfort to her family and many many friends.”  Harriet knows that “Elaine’s soul and spirit live on in the lives of all the people who have lives worth living because she saw who they could become and cared about them deeply.”

Enhanced by Zemanta
12 Comments

Filed under Beit T'Shuvah, Current Events, Uncategorized

12 responses to “In Memoriam: Elaine Breslow

  1. cynthia graham

    Simply put – she made me feel good when I was around her. I will honor her and carry that feeling with me and call on it when I’m down or sad.

  2. Kathy Marks

    Elaine, you will be missed dearly. Your soul will reside in the heart of Beit T’shuvah eternally. You helped all of our community become the special place it is. Rest in peace. Kathy

  3. shawna

    My condolences to the Breslow Family.
    Elaine was such a big help to me. She always had time and kind, supportive words. I am blessed to have known her.
    My thoughts and prayers are with all of you…
    Shawna Kirkeby-Duffy.

  4. I also wish to express my condolences to the Breslow Family.
    Elaine made such a huge difference in my life. She was the one who convinced me to come to Beit T’Shuvah almost 15 years ago. I feel blessed to have known her. Elaine was such a supportive, kind and gentle soul. She will always remain a part of my heart. My prayers are with all of you..
    Beth Lotterstein-Fox

  5. Marcie Amihud

    Only met Elaine 2x and knew she had something special . She understood the pain in peoples hearts and the wisdom she gave to me in a short time was so great. She also helped my son a lot. My prayers and wonderful memories of her to the family in this time of sadness. Elaine will always be with you. marcie amihud

  6. Edyie Mostin

    My family and I are deeply saddened by the loss of Elaine. Our hearts go out to the Breslow Family.
    Elaine was the glue that kept our family together. She was our mentor for over 2 years not only at her Monday night family meetings, but as my son’s counselor and confidant at Beit T’Shuvah. We are extremely grateful and blessed to have crossed paths with her. She will forever be remembered for her honesty, empathy and true wit.
    Edyie Mostin & Family

  7. Elaine Breslow was an amazing therapist and group leader who helped me and my family understand what it means to be empathic without enabling. She was warm, she was funny, she was smart, she was loving. What a terrible and tragic loss her death is…to her family and to the entire community. I regret that I did not get to know her much earlier in our lives. May she rest in peace, as few deserve that peace more than Elaine.
    Janice Kamenir-Reznik and family

  8. Condolences to the Breslow family. Elaine was always there for me during my time at Beit T’Shuvah; always ready to listen and to offer her vast wisdom. Probably saved my life…

    May you rest in eternal peace,

    Rob Kaufman + Family

  9. When I was at Beit T’Shuvah, Elaine and I did not always see eye-to-eye because she saw right through my drug-addled arrogance and pointed out the gaping holes caused by my disease of perception. Her acuity combined with a deep sense of compassion and focused caring truly helped me to find the path of recovery. I am forever grateful to the Breslow family for their support of Beit T’shuvah and to Elaine for being present and real when I could not be. She will always be remembered and may she rest in peace.

  10. Therese Eyermann

    I am so saddened to hear of this untimely loss. I had the privilege and honor to work with Elaine prior to her work at Beit T’Shuvah. She was creative, a leader with vision, a great role model for me, and just fun to be with. My heart goes out to the Breslow family. At this time of Thanksgiving, I am especially thankful I had the opportunity to know this remarkable woman.

  11. Pingback: Cynthia graham | Media4teen

  12. Debby Loesch

    I lost the love of my life to addiction. If only I knew then, what I know now. Though I was not involved in Beit T’ Shuvah’s wonderful work, I knew enough about Elaine, to know what a strong and influential woman she was and I am certain she is greatly missed. May her spirit live on in the many lives she has touched and in her memory, may those individuals “pay it forward” and help others to battle their addictions and reclaim their lives.

Leave a Reply

