Me? A Workaholic? Impossible!


Ford assembly line, 1913.

Image via Wikipedia

By M. Alexander

I like to call myself a Blankaholic.  If you have a name for it, I probably have been or currently am addicted to it: drugs, alcohol, gambling, food, love, cigarettes.  The only type of addict I never thought I could ever be is a workaholic.  I do not like work, I like fun.  I gamble, use, and drink to avoid work or to cope with the little that I have, not to make it easier for me to work more.

Enter: Sobriety, Enter: Passion, Enter: Job that I am passionate about.  I find myself obsessing, I find myself constantly stressed, I find myself unreasonable. All of a sudden, I am a perfectionist.  What if the work I am putting out is not the best I can do, better than anything you can do? Coffee, cigarette, coffee, no time.  My job is 24 hours a day, 7 days a week because it is always in my thoughts, it controls my feelings.

On one hand, it is refreshing to obsess about something other than heroin and women.  On the other hand, this can’t be healthy.  Yes, it is a more socially acceptable addiction, even an asset in our materialistic society where time equals money equals happiness.  But I can’t relax.  What if it gets worse? I think I need to check out a new meeting.

Workaholics Anonymous is a 12-step fellowship modeled around the core principles of Alcoholics Anonymous. The only requirement for membership is the desire to stop working compulsively.  You can find more information about the program including meeting times and locations, literature, and contact information at www.workaholics-anonymous.org.

Are you a healthy worker? Do you obsess about your job? How do you find balance between work and fun?  What if work is fun? What do you do then?

Enhanced by Zemanta

1 Comment

Filed under Compulsive Gambling, addiction, Family Wellness, 12-Steps, Beit T'Shuvah, Sobriety

One response to “Me? A Workaholic? Impossible!

  1. Hi There, I’ve just written a book called “A Book for the Workaholic & Other Animals”. Would you please LIKE! my Fan Page as I will be having a Book Signing on 31 March at Tel-Aviv Harbor?
    http://completionprocess.wordpress.com/book-signing/
    Best Regards for the Future,
    Mor Getz

Leave a Reply

