I’m a Rabbi and I need your help


The question that I am asking myself this week is: how do I manage my passion? I believe that living life with passion and purpose is vital to living well. Yet, I also know that passion unchecked is dangerous.

As a Rabbi, I am passionate about Judaism, living decently and finding goodness in the world. As an employer, I am passionate about fulfilling my mission and the people working for me working hard and being productive. And I find myself being calked intimidating, hard, angry, etc. Rather than blame others and say I am being misunderstood, I have to look at myself and change me.

My commitment is to continue to be passionate and productive. I need help! Please let me know your ideas and experience on how to stay passionate and not be dismissed as a raving lunatic. Thanks, I look forward to trying your suggestions out.

37 Comments

Filed under Gratitude, Temple

37 responses to “I’m a Rabbi and I need your help

  1. sophie

    What you do and have accomplished is wonderful. But you come across as so arrogant and self absorbed. The way you poster at the podium and walking down the hall is like you are king of the world. I would like it if you smiled, had eye contact and some genuine concern for the individual. I feel that the concern you have is for your reputation for BTS and not for the people themselves. You lack humility. I don’t fear you, I just don’t respect you and the way you conduct yourself. Your mission does not make you above other people.

  2. A.nonymous

    Did you really just put out a public request to have your inventory taken? Perhaps making your own trip thru steps 4-9 might be in order… blanket amends from the pulpit doesn’t really clean up wreckage like the one on one variety…. what shmutz that you created still clings to you like a piece of gum on your boot heel?

  3. Stanley

    You sir are not intimidating in the least, but you are unwelcoming and uninviting. You play favorites to those with money and any connection in the entertainment industry. You have your pets, your minions, the few that think you walk on water, and you treat the rest like insignificant garbage. How can you change? I don’t think you can. You are so impressed with yourself.

  4. Dear Rabbi, although we have not met, or maybe only did so once briefly, I have been a supporter of BTS for many years in my own small way. I thought I would toss my 2 cents in here. First, I like that you are opening up the issue and asking for suggestions. Secondly, because I don’t know you, or the situation(s) to which you refer, I can only speak in general terms; with the one exception that I recall several years ago (perhaps as many as 5-6) that there was a newsletter mailed out with a similar issue on the cover suggesting you were working on this issue. So, in that manner, I would suggest trying to link this current issue to that one and look for the similarities. I know from my own struggles that the same issues do tend to manifest in later versions. Ok, that more specific thing stated, the rest of my comment is made in general, speaking about passion and the thin line it can cross over to being “intimidating, hard, angry.” First, I have a rule of three in my life, that is to say if I hear something about myself that is not easy to take from 3 different people (and it can be over a very long period) I am really not listening and I need to pay better attention to it and try to address it. Next, the idea of passion has a very strong element of ” I know I am right” hiding behind it. Passion can only come from belief and belief while being a vital viewpoint often discounts fact that nearly every single thing in this world is both multidetermined (meaning that it is caused by more than one thing) and therefore also contains multiple truths rather than than a singular one. As much as I find it uncomfortable even the Palestinian arguments have validity depending on whose view point one takes. In my view, reality is in the eye of the beholder. As a possible tool you could take a week, an entire week. and whenever you think you are certain about something, positive about something, stop and find the ways you might be wrong. This is a counter ego act, an act of humility, to live in the discomfort of not being right but seeing that absolutes are limiting. But then there several other aspects of this issue. Knowing when to stop, to take a step towards calming down the passion, the energy. To know that people with ADHD and ADD might use anger and stress and excitement to pump up their brain from a low state of arousal. Kids with ADHD will do this, they will fight with mom or dad or brother, not that they want to but to stimulate themselves verbal Ritalin if you will. The soluation is to know this and stop it. I use to do it by being neurotically on time. I would run around the day and the city and I would race to make sure I was ALWAYS early to everything, it was stressful and kept my brain in a state of excitement, people do this with anger. This would be an ongoing conscious decision you would have to make to prevent yourself from getting too excited and to see it as toxic rather than helping. I recall one gambler I treated many years ago where I was literally jumping up and down in my office with drama and energy… It did not help the patient at all. With gambling addiction I use to think that the patients who were action gamblers needed to find new exciting behaviors, now I see that is not true they need to learn to calm down, slow down, tolerate slower life, learn to let their nervous system reset at a lower level and this can take years after the gamble stops so that they can once again be excited by a baseball game without having 1,000 dollars on it. Finally, as therapists working with addictions and our own mishigas at the same time, I am seeing that when I am in a state of mind such as you describe here, I usually need some time off to regroup, and reground myself. That it is just too toxic to my soul and ego to do this work all the time without reconnecting to non-addiction life. Because you are basically living and breathing it all week long, I suspect the need is even greater for you.
    Wishing you Shalom Our Blessed Rabbi,
    Sincerely,
    Eric

  5. Stuart

    Be passionate and productive! But don’t get angry when your expectations of others are not met. Remember Cain, who gave his best, but it was not met with the response he wanted or expected. Give your best because it is spiritually uplifting, and remember that we all would like to be able to give our best all the time, but most of us just can’t.

  6. david

    rabbi,

    maybe stop playing minesweeper while you give struggling addicts spiritual guidance. you talk an awful lot about the importance of being “present.” why not then be present when dealing with spiritually sick people who are in need of guidance. people come in to your office with serious questions about god and often leave thinking, “wow, this guy didn’t even want me in his office.”

    i would also advise that you stop speaking for the recently deceased. i remember once you spoke about a man who had recently died from the disease of alcoholism and stated that he had died because “he did not love his children enough to stop drinking.”

    what a horrible message to send to those poor children, “your father is dead because he didn’t love you.”

    that man died from the disease of alcoholism, a disease that you and your staff are there to help treat. i know that many people that i spoke with found that in poor taste. you are not a mind reader. you have no idea what was going on in that mans brain nor any other persons.

    i will say in your defense rabbi that i owe my life to the institution that you lead. you are not perfect and neither am i. you, everyone who works for you, everyone who lives or has lived at beit t’shuvah, are all works in progress.

  7. A.nonymous

    Maybe you could find a donor to set up a trust to hire an intern to make your direct amends for you !

  8. I am reading your comments and appreciate your input. I am sorry that some of you feel I am trying to “get out of making direct amends”. Those of you who have been harmed by me, please send me an email and I want to talk to you to make my personal T’Shuvah. Thanks and God Bless, Rabbi Mark

    • j

      gee, mark

      i’ve never found you to be any of those things.. . .
      this is a ‘disease of perception’. i canNOT pick & choose which things i think i have perceived correctly or INcorrectly. i had to conclude i did not know what love or marriage or employment or responsibility or 100 things really ‘lookrd like’. i had it all ‘wrong’/backwards. so, probably i do not know what it really looks like to be ‘cared about’.
      i ‘think’ you have never done anything but ‘care’ about me. for that, thnkx!!! (and i helped you keep sober by providing someone for you to ‘give it away to’) you and harriet have lovely holiday season

      see you soon

      jrubin

      ps: our littlest one, noah, began kindergarden this week

  9. A.nonymous

    I agree, I agree, I agree. The previous individuals that made statements hit the nail on the head. Arrogant, self absorbed, kiss the butt of those with money and treat the average individual like dog meat. You definately have your little favorites that smooch your ass and can sing. Thank goodness for the staff that are involved and care deeply. They are the reason for Beit Tshuvas success. Rabbi 101,look people in the eye when speaking to them, show you really care, and don’t swagger when you walk. Rabbi Jay is now in a better place that appreciates him.

  10. anon

    Beit Tshuvah is not your average temple.
    You continue to help people find their place on a daily basis. BTS has saved my life and many others. At times, you can be rough and mean…….but who isn’t…. keep up the good work and shut down your computer when you are having discussions with others.

  11. Anonymous

    I have been sober for 17 years. It’s my understanding that when we make amends to people, we bring the amends to them. it is not the job of the people we have harmed to meet you half way. This sounds like an attempt to remove some of or even shirk your responsibility. It sounds like it’s time for you to re-examine what it means to be a man of spirit and start behaving like one.

  12. greg

    hey getting sober aint for sissies. I owe beit t shuvah much thanks for giving me the time and help to get myself together. I believe all of us in recovery from rabbi all the way down are abit excentric and even a little crazy.. i have excepted my unusal style, and my way of thinking.
    and i except that in others..if we didnt have people like rabbi mark around the world would be dull……………thank you rabbi mark for helping me
    better understand………..greg

  13. A.nonymous

    not only do you want us to do your 4th step … now you want us to do your 8th too! … as a spiritual leader, your job is actually asking us to do 12 . I’m not pythagoras , but I see a trend here !

  14. alumnist

    I dont always agree with what you do or how you do it, but how many of the people leaving these comments, (including myself)
    would even be alive or sober enough to do so if not for YOU and BTS.

  15. anon

    It seems to me after reading some of the comments on this page, that the strong reactions people are having might be due to the wording in the Rabbi’s statement. It sounds arrogant. If he were to have said “how do I manage my anger” which we all know is a problem, not only for him, but for many of us, we may have heard this with more open ears.

    Another question the Rabbi may want to ask himself is”how do I say things in a way that makes a variety of different people feel comfortable with me, as I AM a spiritual leader”
    It seems that it is his responsibility to really adjust his wording and sometimes his actions in order to appeal to the vast scope of broken people (himself included) who really look up to him.

    If he is sincere in this request, even though it is worded in a way that makes me question its motives, I think that it is probably a step in a good direction.

  16. I’ve never met you but if people are seeing you as you described, I can only suggest that you treat people like you would like to be treated. First listen well, then talk. Show your “happy” feelings by smiling and acknowledging people that walk by. If able, go the extra mile. I know I like to be treated with respect and made to feel special and if I feel that way, I know others probably do too so go that extra mile for your fellow man. Good luck and may God bless you as you continue to work for Him and His glory.

  17. millow

    love your sentiment but it goes way farther then that…..!!!! I’ll break it down in couple of days when i find quality time to reply to most of these coments and make an suggtion on how the can better him self and serve ten times fold and am talking small stuff if his if his stated misson is ever to be sought out. Its all in true self…..

  18. Anonymouse

    Wow this is a looonnngggg time coming. Think back to Lake Street. You are the same and will never change. 12 steps or not. You have alwasy been enamored with those with lots o’money. Yep, your harsh and thats you. I alwasy thought that you becoming a Rabbi would somehow soften you and hape facilitate that change in you but not so much. I do see you want to badly to be like the original Rabbi Mark. But he was gentle, kind, loving and soft. Genuinly caring. Some addicts don’t do so well with your harshness.

  19. Max

    I have never seen such a bitter group of whiny ass crybaby bitches.
    Why does Mark have to smile at you and make you feel safe and cherished and loved and important? Like that is his job? His role is an administrator of a faith based rehab, it is self supporting, if he does his job well then people live and go on to positively affect the lives of others, if he doesn’t do it well then they die. That is the measure. This is not a popularity contest.
    Maybe he he gets sick or overwhelmed dealing with all you needy smile-hungry fuckheads, ever think of that? How about this one… maybe he doesn’t like you that much. Maybe people in early sobriety are very interesting. Maybe he all they want to talk about subjects that aren’t very interesting after you’ve heard them year after year. Maybe being “nice” feel in authentic to him….. maybe he is just being honest.
    I think you don’t like him because he isn’t nice and because he is a dick. Well are you sober, did you go through BTS? Is your life not a piece of shit? Good you could have a little gratitude and a little understanding and maybe a touch of getting over it.
    This never was about him making 5000 friends, many of whom have zero integrity. Maybe being “nice” feel in authentic to him….. maybe he is just being honest. Maybe people who feel like the world, including Rabbi, owes them something, (in this case a constant warm smile) are missing the point entirely.
    Look bitches, Rabbi can’t tell you this, as he is held hostage by some idea of civil discourse and political correctness and some new found bizarre belief that it may be his ethical responsibility as a spiritual leader to smile like a fuckin’ idiot when he sees people in the hall. Maybe he should give you a hug too?
    Why does his default position need to be one of welcoming every struggling dopefiend into his office? Which is really his space like anyone’s office, to listen to the same story about how they are undergoing a profound change.
    This is my position, whether BTS has such absolutely off the charts success because rabbi doesn’t feel the need to be popular, or not, it works.
    There is this prevailing belief, nationwide but particularly in california that not being pleasant all the time, and not enduring endless bullshit conversations with idiots trying to state their weak minded views, even if one is too busy and the line of idiots is too long to make such attention paying possible makes one an asshole. Wrongo losers, it makes someone busy.
    Oh by the way if I hurt any of your little feelings, let me offer you a big soul searching amends and allow me to tell you how sorry I am and assure you that your feelings are the most important things in the world. That you sensitivity is not just your problem it’s my problem, and that far from being a bunch of whiny ass little douchebags you are really intuitive beings and I am so grateful to you and that now I see the very pathetic dim light of your insight. Thanks!!
    Here’s a happy face.🙂
    Oh yeah and by the way, if any of you think I am some Rabbi groupie or something I assure I am not. He is just Mark Borovitz, a guy, who is a Rabbi, and is authentic, he is also sometimes a dick, but is not entirely an asshole, he is also kind of pleasant and cheerful, funny, insightful, generous, and good hearted (if not always good natured) who runs the joint that pays the counselors who saved my life and brought me into a community of people, some of whom are prone to hang onto their petty resentments, but lord knows we need them too.

    • Soberguy # XXVII

      WOW!!!! and Max ( or may I call you simple Simon ) It is the expression of feelings and the therapeutic value of venting those feelings that put this blog back up. Its not that we don’t have gratitude for our life being saved, or even fail to recognize our own “whiny bitch-assedness”. THIS is the safe forum FOR THOSE FEELINGS lest we infect the rest of the world as we repress them and carry them throughout our day in the form of resentment. So it seems, you just (like in primary) hogged all the space in victoria’s kum-ba-ya process group to rant about how big a group of fairies we all are and how big & hairy your nuts are. Thanks for the flashback.

    • sophie

      Max – apparently you didn’t really read the thoughts expressed here, you picked words and phrases out of context. You also apparently did not learn anything at BTS. You come across as very angry and hostile. The name calling and nastiness you are expressing here is really out of line and immature. I never expected a brass band greeting or a hello all the time. I do though expect to be treated with common courtesy. The same courtesy I get from strangers on the street.

      We are having a conversation here about our opinions – it is a public board and not all have to agree……….all opinions are welcome. But there is no need for childish, ugly name calling. No ones opinion here is right or wrong, they are just their perceptions and opinions.

    • Mr. A

      Max:
      It is obvious by reading your vulgar ranting and your mis-spelled words and your bad grammar that you are quite ignorant and stupid. Your comments appear to have been written by a fourth grader. As for the intent of your words…..get a life!!!!!

  20. max

    Dear respondents, Thank you, thank you for continuing this dialogue…. I too feel like I have left much unsaid….

    Many people here expressed resentment, in some cases long pent up, over Rabbi’s slights (perceived or otherwise) that affected them in some way. Some go back to Lake Street.
    Let me point out that I am defending Rabbi, or cosigning his behavior. He has been a dick to me too, treated me at times with contempt, but the difference is I got over it. I’ve also stayed sober for five years and stayed involved at BTS, his feeling towards me have evolved from contempt to indifference, so I guess I am making some progress.
    I am certain you will agree that for Rabbi to even put this post up was an attempt, (however too little and however too late some of you may think it is) to open a dialogue and be more approachable. I saw that many of the commenters took that as an opportunity to post nasty comments, behind the cowardly veil of anonymity.
    The problem is not that Rabbi is less than perfect. That is not a problem, that is the reality. The problem is that you have a problem with it, the problem is in fact yours.
    I don’t spend a lot of time worrying about the nature of people that post comments in a less than forthright manner, and I don’t have a problem with Rabbi being who he is. Far from it, I actually find it likely that if Rabbi were to transform into a cheery little bundle of joy that the world would likely spin off it’s axis.
    If Rabbi is a dick, and his life is not all it could be as a result of this, then that’s his problem, if you are carrying around resentments for Rabbi’s failure to live up to your expectations for what you think he should be, then that’s a problem that can only be fixed within…..
    As far as what I wrote it was obviously hyperbole designed to provoke a reaction, it was not a clinical report. And it was signed by Max, and yes Soberguy that’s Max Simon.
    As for the comments on my post. One was written by one of the guys I went through the house with, we are both sober, and really that’s is all that matters. God bless him. Soberguy, I realize now the errors of my ways and so as an act of penance I am going to resist the urge to encourage you to finally put on your big girl panties. I hope you found some benefit in expressing your feelings about having been prevented from expressing your feelings so long ago. If you recall you used to cry every group. You’d cry during big book…….
    So, I stand by mis-spelled words, typos and all. It was crafted however poorly, I read it twice, so should you.
    Sophie, I admire you for not hiding behind a an anonymous handle. To everyone one else I am not saying that Rabbi is a sensitive carrying bundle of joy. But I am saying that many of the criticisms are simply fail to take into account his equity. beyond such as the one this into some sort of class warfare, under the pretense that he favors the rich
    I don’t give a rats ass what you all like and what you all feel, I do care about the longevity of BTS as an institution.
    Also as a side note I think it’s just too funny, (and perhaps karmic/divine justice) that as the BTS vision has expanded to the point that Rabbi now feels compelled to have some level of customer service/web based focus groups, everyone bitches about him and calls him a dick.
    HA!
    I also find it likely that he’s not losing much sleep over it…. nor should he.

  21. Rabbi Mark

    I agree with some of the comments made here. I am wrong when I appear to you Sophie to pay more attention to my computer than to you. I apologize. Some of my habits I continually work on and they ebb and flow. I am guilty of many of the things you have said. However, some if them I am not. I invite you to contact me and I would love to discuss your posts.

    To everyone who says you have to have money to be a favorite, YOU ARE LYING! Since you have such disdain for me, Mr. A, you must have favorites too! I wonder why you haven’t taken me up on my invitation to contact me.

    As to the people who say they don’t have to contact me with their resentments, you are correct. Iwould ask you to only to help me not make the same mistakes again.

    I appreciate your passion on this subject.

    • Mr. A

      I do not have disdain or contempt for you Rabbi, not at all. I was told many months ago that people either love or hate you. For me it is a real dichotomy. I have heard you speak some real pearls of wisdom, truly profound ideas. During these times I have learned a great deal from you and it is partly these ideas that I have been trying to put into use. These spiritual principals are helping me stay sober. I am grateful and I honestly thank you for this.

      On the contrary I am only saying that your contentious behavior is unseemly, uncomplimentary and contradictory for a spiritual leader, especially showing such disrespect in a place of worship. I cringe every time I hear you curse on the bema. If I had your personal email I would contact you directly. My personal email is dpgame101@ca.rr.com.

  22. Daniel

    I think if you are going to be Anonymous, you should loose the right to be venomous and vitriolic. If you can’t handle being out there then tone it down tough guy. I’m sure you have some points that can be made in there somewhere but all I read was (wah, wah, wah, (i’m a coward) wah, wah, wah). As for others who did put their name on their venom and vitriol;
    WE GET YOUR POINT! Jeez, chill out!😉
    Rabbi has always given me what I needed. If I wanted more, I feel I would have tried harder to get it. Has he always done so with style and grace? NO!
    But hey, we all got our own problems. I would never blame mine on his!
    For some crazy reason, I feel his personality has been a great motivator for many of us to continue on our path through sobriety. Whether positive or negative, it’s certainly out there.
    For you Rabbi, We all appreciate when we feel the love! As for the rest of it, I think it’s a good thing you are trying to reach out on this blog. Nobody’s perfect!🙂

    • max

      Well said Daniel,
      Perhaps sometimes it is hard for me to manage my passion as well. I will now chill out.
      I like Rabbi just the way he is. I like the world just the way it is, and i like BTS just the way it is.
      But wtf do I know…

      As for Rabbi, I find myself among the group that love and respect him. I admire the fact that he is very much human and has his own struggles, and I appreciate his hard work. I understand that when one is in the position to make so many decisions and form so many relationships some of them won’t pan out.
      I would hate to see Rabbi’s authenticity diminished because of politics. If nothing else I always felt that he was being honest, that he was who he was. And his personality, and the difficulty I had with it ultimately benefitted me. I realized that even if he didn’t I knew who I was and that was all that mattered.
      BTS has a success rate that is off the chart, and to me those ends, those lives saved, those families restored justify whatever means.
      And like you I take exception to those that would strike with a sucker punch.
      I am going to shut up now and will likely never post on this again.

  23. sara

    It seems to me, above every thing else this initial question “How do I manage my passion” needs clarification. I have read and re-read it. Forgive me if it makes no sense to me only. Passion as defined in the Dictionary is “A powerful emotion, such as love, joy, hatred, or anger. and that’s like every online dictionary I go to…” So which one are you having trouble controlling?

    I also feel that being anonymous is anyone’s right on an internet message board. btw.
    anyway. all these arguments seem to be lead on by a kind of confusing question in my opinion.

  24. Arlene Ford

    If we consider the original question that Rebb posited…how do I manage my passion and not come across as a lunatic, we might get a different perspective here. Our Rabbi asked for our help…need we say that, in and of itself, is the mark of humility?

    Personally, I would not like to see my inventory taken on a public board and suspect thats true for most of us. Its very easy to take cheap shots, particularly when posters hide behind the cloak of anonymity. If you have the courage of your conviction, then have the guts to attach your name to it….own it & be transparent.

    I know that when my passions are out of proper measure, I lose the very audience I was trying to reach in the first place. For me, this would be about the practice of Mussar; both the retention of my finer traits while remaining mindful that my beliefs don’t give me the right to trample on others.

    And Max, dear Max, language counts. Words create; either positively or negatively. Was it really necessary to call the spiritual leader of our community a “dick?” Surely, at this stage in your sobriety, I would have hoped that you could have found a more eloquent/appropriate way of expressing your thoughts. And this, for me, is on point & illustrative of when a passion, out of proper balance, morphs into the appearance of lunatic ravings.

    One thing I know we can all agree on; of all the feelings that Rebb evokes, indifference is clearly not one of them.

    • max

      Point taken. My comments were about the nasty comments and less about the original question. The idea that he would be a dick was culled from previous posters criticisms of his manner. I don’t necessarily think in those terms, I don’t measure character by personality, effectiveness but popularity. Mark taught me torah, and continues to, his being demanding of me help make me demanding of myself.
      When I allowed it to be stipulated that Mark can have some character traits that make him somewhat (and only somewhat) unapproachable my point is that without that trait, and in a house full of people in early recovery, he will be approached about bullshit far too often.
      I also found it an outrageous character assassination, to accuse Rabbi of pandering to the well heeled. That is just offensive, I even feel bad repeating here to counter it.
      Much of what I said lacked my usual temperance in regard to language, and I apologize for that as well.

  25. JILL MACHLIS

    Im waiting for Ashton kucher to pop up and yell PUNK’D from my computer screen. There is no way you people are serious. I dont know if youre aware of this but Rabbi dedicates his entire existence to helping you assholes….. and im one of you assholes too. You dont like how he does things? why dont you go dear diary in your pink furry journals, or your black and white composition notebooks that were given to you….. compliments of Rabbi. And did any of you stop and think that if you hadn’t fucked up as royally as you did, you wouldn’t even be in the position where you would feel the need to cry on the inter-web….. chaunceys.

    call me if you need to cry.. 818 970 0115.

  26. Emily

    The interesting thing about passion is that it has to be cultivated and focused…this is something that I learned from having the opportunity to live at Beit T’Shuvah (for FREE, I might add), in Harriet and Rabbi’s home (BTS, I mean), and without having paid back rent, yet.

    I promise that Rabbi doesn’t need me to defend him, it’s just bizarre that people find the need to anonymously attack him, judge him and pretend to know what it is like to be an employee, let alone THE Rabbi, at Beit T’Shuvah.

    Are there any other temples in LA that have 250 people, standing room only, EVERY Friday night for services? Is there any other rehab in LA that will let you stay for FREE for a year, and have a therapist for FREE, a psychiatrist for FREE, an acupuncturist for FREE, help you find a job, give you a counselor and has a competent staff (that is not the Salvation Army)?

    As for “kissing the asses of those with money”: who should do that then? Who should get the massive donations so that Beit T’Shuvah can still help people who have no money or little money? Continue to pay the staff a living wage? Continue to feed all 150 residents? Beit T’Shuvah is built on principles AND the personalities of Harriet and Rabbi, why wouldn’t Harriet and Rabbi extend themselves so that Beit T’Shuvah can be as good as it can for everyone, not the same for everyone, but good for everyone?

    I wonder how many people criticizing the way Rabbi’s asking for people to come to him so that he may have the opportunity to make amends and start a dialogue could have any understanding of coming into contact with so many people on any given day? To expect that a Rabbi, let alone Rabbi Mark (Rabbi to 150 residents and their families and 600 congregants, that are constantly changing, 10 Board Members and their families, 25 staff members and their families, random people, contacting him for help, and their families…) could know how people perceive to have been harmed by him or exactly who is offended by him and why, while simultaneously keeping the best interest of Beit T’Shuvah his number 1 priority, is INSANE.

    Beit T’Shuvah is the place where I got sober, it’s still my community and it was the catalyst for all the good that has come into my life since living there.

    I am grateful that you’re asking the questions, Rabbi but this is not the place that people are going to give you an honest answer. This is the place that people are going to spew because they wouldn’t ever say it to your face.

  27. Mr. A

    It is quite interesting to me that two of my comments that were slightly uncomplimentary to Rabbi Mark on this comment string and another have been removed.

    Rabbi Mark…..or Rachel….care to respond? Is this an unbiased forum or a censored one? I for one would like to know.

  28. Anonymously Yours

    This is my first time here. I’ll say this. The rabbi shows great courage and humility to open himself up for criticism. How many people do the same? A man who can read criticism, think about it, and work on himself deserves praise. Rabbi, may Hashem bless you and your organization!

    Folks, before you start pointing the finger at the rabbi, remember that while pointing one finger of blame towards another person, you have three fingers pointing back towards yourself. Think about it.

Leave a Reply

